top of page
Writer's pictureMama Bear

Mama's Vanilla Pie

So Easy and Delicious!


This one was made with mango puree as the topping.

This is one of my favorite pies, my Mama used to make. I recently asked her for the recipe as I am wanting to make it for my book club on Wednesday this week. I always loved this pie as a child and was dying to recreate it. But what I didn't realize when I asked for the recipe...was how easy this pudding (or tea time treat) is to make. What a bonus!! Super quick and easy and oh so tasty. So I knew I had to share it with all you other busy Mama Bears.


I made this one just to try it out before I committed to taking it to book club. And it came out just as tasty as I remember it being! Here is the recipe.


Filling

1 Royal instant pudding

250ml milk

125ml cream


Base

110g butter

1 1/2 cup flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

5T caster sugar

This base is incredible!!!! It goes super crispy and tastes like heaven. I recommend trying to get it as thin as possible because if too think, it can be difficult to cut through (that's how crispy its gets).


Topping

Any tin fruit puree or tinned cherries or gooseberries are a-maze-ing!


Mix all ingredients for the base and bake at 180C for 20 minutes. Allow to cool completely. Then beat together all filling ingredients and pour over base. Refrigerate till set. Pour over topping just before you server.


That is it! How easy is that. Do you have any quick and easy recipes to share with me? And if you try this one out please let me know how you liked it. Bon appetit.



"Dessert makes everything better" - Unknown


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page