top of page
Writer's pictureMama Bear

Lets Get Festive!

Rudolph style!



So last night we celebrated 15 days till Christmas with dessert for dinner! I mean can you get more fun!? If you have read any of my past posts you will know my daughter is not a great eater. She is fussy and mostly eats like a bird. So I was hoping she would devour this obviously, but I also wanted her to have some goodness first.


So to start off, when we got home from school, I made a platter of sliced veggies, like carrot, celery, cucumber, green beans, asparagus and baby tomatoes and put them on a platter with a yummy hummus dip. I ate a few pieces dipping them in the hummus and dramatically mmmmmmh mmmhing all the while. She watched me with skepticism in her eyes. But I ignored her said yum yum a few times and walked away. And left her to her own devices, desperately hoping she would surprise me and eat like a star. I was secretly watching where she could not see me. She immediately went straight to start dunking! I was thrilled, till I realized that that was the extent of it. Dunking. Not a morsel touched her lips, but most of the veg was dunked and neatly placed on the side.


Ok, so that was a failure. Next attempt. Yogurt. My sunshine loves her yogurt so this was a safe bet. She ate 2 bowels full, I sighed with relief. This made me feel a little better about the dessert for dinner theme of the evening. Then we tried a big bunch of grapes. She devoured these! (she loves eating off the bunch, makes her feel independent to rip the grape off herself and pop it in her mouth). So with this under my belt I felt a little happier with the rest of the evenings menu.


So we were finally able to have a yummy treat dinner...we ended up having crumpets / flapjacks. It was so much fun. This was served with crispy bacon, blue berries, strawberries, banana, cream and syrup. And was obviously Christmas themed. My sunshine adored this idea. Her little eyes lit up when she saw Rudolph on her plate (she has just learnt who he is). She didn't devour it like I hoped, but nibbled on everything, especially the fruit, which was great and the sprinkles were a huge hit (hmmm, maybe I need to put sprinkles on broccoli?) Was really such fun. So if you are looking for something fun and easy to do with your kids, go and give this a try, your kids will love it.


Rudolph before

Rudolph after a few seconds, hee hee. Savage!!!

What Christmas traditions do you have in your family? Please send me pics!


“Desserts are the fairy tales of the kitchen,a happily-ever-after to supper" Terri Guillemets



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page