top of page
Writer's pictureMama Bear

Lets Talk Grommets

Dom Dom Dom (Queue dramatic, ominous music!)



To me the word grommets sounds like a name for some cute little creatures, a bit like a gremlin. They are like naughty little buggers, that cause nonsense. They are cute but always get up to mischief. Ah man, those little grommets, always up to no good. So anyway, naturally when our GP sent us to the ENT to see if our little Sunshine needed grommets, I had to do a bit of research.


So it turns out a grommet is a tiny tube that is inserted into the eardrums to treat conditions that affect the middle ear, such as recurrent middle ear infections and glue ear. (Glue ear, is a persistent build-up of fluid in the middle ear that can cause hearing problems) The grommet relieves the pressure in the middle ear, due to the build up of that fluid. The grommet allows the fluid it leak out of the middle ear and allows air back in. Which is what we as adults do through our Eustachian tube. With babies and young kids this tube is still developing and may not be working properly, hence the fluid build up (Ok biology lesson over). Who would have thunk it, my Sunshine had glue ear. But seriously my husband and I had heard of grommets and had a vague idea of what they were but we literally do not know a single person who has had them. So it was like something just outside our universe. Until the ENT said our daughter needed them. *cry face*


A Grommet is a tiny tube that is inserted into the eardrums to treat conditions that affect the middle ear, such as recurrent middle ear infections and glue ear.

Sunshine has had recurring ear infections ever since starting creche at 6 months old. She was 16 months when we finally got the grommets put in. So she had been suffering for a long time. Neither my husband or I are prone to ear infections, so poor little thing was just unlucky and was very susceptible to them. And each time she got an ear infection it came along with pain, congestion, appetite and sleep loss and subsequently a prescription of antibiotic from the Dr. Which broke my heart each time. She was miserable, sore and just struggling, until we managed to kick the infection, with an antibiotic. And this vicious cycle just repeated itself over and over.

So when the ENT promised us the world, in saying that the grommets would cure all these issues that we had being plagued with, I was over the moon. And absolutely terrified at the same time. My baby would have to be put under and then go into theater and have her first op! No man...how can any Mama handle the stress of this. My mind raced on all that could go wrong and questioned the Dr. like he was a serial killer on trail. The poor guy must have thought I was a nutcase. But he had all the answers. And we would have been silly to not go with the grommets. With very few risks in having the op and all the risks if we left her without it; damage to the middle ear, hearing loss, stunted learning, speech and development due to minimized hearing. Apparently she was already hearing like she was underwater, when she had an infection. It seemed crazy not to do it! So we booked a date and embraced the fear.


The night before we had to give her a bottle at 11.45pm, as she could not drink or eat after 12. The next morning we were off to the hospital with a bag packed with treats and presents to keep her entertained and to distract her after (I recommend this to any parent going into the same thing, the bag of fun, helped us dramatically). I was super emotional, while our little sunshine ran around freely and happily in the hospital ward, unknowing of the fate that awaited her! I felt horrible. Like I was putting my child in harms way, even though I was doing the opposite. And I was constantly on the edge of tears. I held it together for her sake.


Anyway, we waited on a bed in the waiting ward, Sunshine was the 2nd youngest so we lucky didn't wait long, as the youngest goes first. She got a little h-angry waiting but eventually we were ushered into the operating ward. Only one parent can take the child in. And so I went in with her, even though I was emotionally unstable at this point, I knew she needed me, as she was very Mommy clingy. I got dressed into those blue hospital, paper gowns, booties and hair net. I looked a sight, but couldn't even have a laugh about it because I was so stressed. Walking into that room I felt like I was walking my child into a lions den. Every fiber of my being said run. It sounds dramatic but as a Mamabear my core, most basic instinct is to protect my child at all costs and this situation was no exception.


Every fiber of my being said run. It sounds dramatic but as a Mamabear my core, most basic instinct is to protect my child at all costs and this situation was no exception.

The Dr's were great. They distracted me and her with chatter and eventually a little video on a phone. As she settled on my lap, my arms protectively wrapped around her and dancing farm animals entertaining her, they put the mask to her face (this is how the anesthetic is administered to babies). This was the hard part, she struggled, like a bull, the one Dr had to hold her down on me while the other forced the mask to her face. I was holding her in my arms, telling her she was ok and that Mommy was there and that I loved her and she was so brave. (Even writing this is bringing big, guilty tears to my eyes!) I was strong, for her, my voice was steady and unwavering, I kept my sh*t together right up until the point that her tiny body went limp. She was out. Her little body lifeless on mine. And that was when I broke. It is the worst thing to see your child like that, lifeless and still, a dead weight in your arms, even if you know they are ok and this is necessary, it is still the worst thing. At this point I unleashed a dam wall of tears and sobs. Like loud, gross, snotty sobbing. The Dr. gently took her from me and placed her on the operating table. I kissed her through sobs, told her how much I loved her and left my baby in their hands. One of the hardest things I have ever had to to. Trusting them with her life. And I walked out (parents can't stay in the theater for the op).


The nurses were faffing over me as I was leaving, telling me she would be fine and all babies struggle like that. Patting my arm and telling me her breathing was normal and she was fine. (once the anesthetic knocked her out, she started making weird breathing noises, which was absolutely terrifying, but apparently normal). They were just trying to comfort me but I was in no place to tell them thank you or even to be polite and listen to their rambling, I just had to make it to my Hubster so I could crumble into his arms and hear him say it was all going to be ok. And that's exactly what I did. Poor guy was so worried, I am sure it must have looked like I had just sold our child's sole to the devil the way I was sobbing.


We were then ushered into the waiting area and were told we would be called once she was out and waking up. (the op taking anywhere from 20 minutes to half an hour) So once we passed the half an hour mark, I was going crazy...trying to convince my husband that we needed to break in there, take our child and run. I mean it was over half an hour now, why were they taking so long? Something must be wrong! Actually these thoughts already started 5 minutes into the op, but that's besides the point. After about 35 minutes they told me she was waking up and that we should go in now. When we got there she was screaming and thrashing in the nurses arm. I wanted to punch them all in the face for not having me there earlier, so she could wake in the safety of her Mamas arms. I resisted the crazy and grabbed child from the nurse and held her close, trying to comfort and calm her. She was super confused and drowsy from the meds. Apparently the op is painless, but who knows. She did have a needle in her foot which they leave in for a few hours after the op, in case she needed meds or a drip or god knows. But we demanded they remove it immediately, because it was sore and bothering her (never be afraid to go against the Drs or nurses orders if you believe it is in the best interest of your child, you know your baby best and you are their protector. Obviously they are more knowledgeable on medicine than me but I am more knowledgeable on my child and who the hell leaves a needle in a one year olds' foot, just in case, I mean seriously come on!?) Anyway she cried for an hour straight. While my husband and I rocked, sushed, kissed and sang to her. She eventually fell asleep on my husband. I cried more.


Never be afraid to go against the Doctors or nurses orders if you believe it is in the best interest of your child, you know your baby best and you are their protector.

After a hour of sleep she woke up with a smile on her face. That smile, crumbled the mountains of weight I had been carrying on my shoulders and all seemed ok with the world again. She was pretty much her self from then on. She demanded a cheesy sandwich and devoured most of it, she chatted away while wandering around the ward. I was almost giddy I was so relieved. And after a wet nappy we were told we could leave.

After the op she was on a antibiotic to clear any infection. And she could have gone back to school the very next day. But Mommy wasn't ready, so we stayed home for the rest of the week and watched tv and ate biscuits.


And now to present day, two months after the op, our child is a different child. We no longer have the chronic ear pain, her appetite and sleep improved, the congestion and grumpiness is gone and she is generally in way better spirits. We could not be happier. Sure we have still had a little cold in this time (she goes to creche so this is the norm), but the grommets did their job and relieved the ear pressure, releasing the gunk that was building up. So she experienced no ear pain, which made the cold easier to handle. And for the first time we were able to see a cold through without an antibiotic intervention! Whoop whoop!!!! *Literally doing my dance of joy* Another great thing is if your child is prone to ear infections, and can just get one for no reason at all, like ours. You can get antibiotic drops that go directly into the ear and clear the infection without it having to go through their whole system. Yes please! Whoever invented grommets... Give that man a Bells!!!!


So if any of you Mamas out there are considering this, or worrying over this, I really hope this blog helps. I was so super stressed, so I know exactly how you feel. And it will be tough, you will cry...A lot. But after it is all done you will never look back. Those little gremlins do their job well!!!



"You will never know how truly evil you are, until someone upsets one of your kids" - Unknown

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page