top of page
Writer's pictureMama Bear

It's Time For A Bit Of Mischief!

Cue Elfie!


What mischief will he get up to?

We are welcoming Elfie the naughty elf into our home for the first time tomorrow! And I could not be more excited! I know a lot of parents complain about the amount of "work" bringing an Elf On The Shelf into the home adds. But it could not be more up "my Christmas obsessed" alley! Seriously I am not sure who will love it more, me or my daughter. (Definitely me)


To be completely honest, (don't tell my husband) but I do think my daughter is a little young for it, she is only 19 months. I do get that she won't appreciate the fun to the full extent and I will maybe have to keep it more simple for her till she is a bit older, but I know she will love the excitement of it and the anticipation of what he will do next and finding him in the mornings. I really want to start instilling the excitement and joy of the Christmas Season in my child. I don't think it is ever to early to start to show our kids the magic of Christmas. I am sure she will appreciate it more as she gets older but I cannot wait till then. I want to see that spark of awe and excitement in her eyes now.


I really want to start instilling the excitement and joy of the Christmas Season in my child. I don't think it is ever to early to start to show our kids the magic of Christmas.

Also I am so excited to start our Christmas traditions as a family. Last year my Sunshine was way to young to really do too much. Even her gifts were more about the excitement of the wrapping then the actual gift. And me and my husband had never really started any Christmas traditions before that. So now is the time! Elfie will be our very first Christmas tradition.


I am sure most of you will know who the Elf On The Shelf is and what he is there for, but for those of you who don't, here is a little run down. Little Elfie (we named him that) has been sent from Santa in the North Pole. (He arrives on the 1st of Dec) He will keep an eye on our little Sunshine and report back to Santa every night while she sleeps. Because Santa is so busy making all the good children's toys and gifts for Christmas Eve, he needs help from his elves to see if all the children of the world are still been naughty or nice. He needs to keep his list up to date. So Elfie was sent to us, to do that exact task. And Elfie seems to get up to a lot of fun and mischief in the night. So each morning our little girl will wake up and find him in a sticky situation or doing something new and fun. When Sunshine does something good, kind and nice, she will be rewarded by Elfie and Santa with little gifts, treats and notes. When she is naughty Elfie takes this message back to Santa and he has to adjust his "naughty or nice" list. This really helps encourage good behavior as well as things like, Christmas giving and being kind to others. All these good deeds get rewarded. On Christmas Eve Santa collects Elfie when he is distributing all the toys to the good little boys and girls and Elfie returns to the North Pole with Santa until next year. The best part of this tradition is that there really are no hard and fast rules, you can adjust the experience to suit you and your family, which is great.


It really is such a cute, fun little tradition to enjoy with the whole family. It takes a little bit of thought and creativity but it will be well worth the effort to see the joy in your little ones eyes. I have already got the whole month planned, of course. You can also just wing it each day if you prefer but my OCD will not allow this. And there are some amazing ideas on Pinterest for those days inspiration is lacking. Or even just drop me a mail and I will give you a few ideas.


Who else will be doing Elf on the shelf this year? I will share what our little Elfie gets up to. Please send me pics of what your naughty Elf gets up to too, come on lets share the fun?


"The light in a child's eyes is all it takes to make Christmas a magical time of the year " Unknown

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page